Top Image Mesa County Home
Mesa County Sheriff's Office
Law Operations Division
OHV Ordinance  

OHV's are allowed to cross state roads and highways by CRS 33-14.5-108 (1)(b). The manner in which they must be crossed is addressed in 33-14-112, which is:

1. With regard to unincorporated areas of Mesa County and OHVs on county roads...

a. At an approx 90 degree angle to the direction of the highway and at a place where no obstruction prevents a quick and safe crossing

b. The OHV is brought to a complete stop before crossing the shoulder, or if none, the roadway, before crossing

c. The OHV must yield right-of-way to all motor vehicle traffic on the road or highway

d. Crossing a divided highway must only be done at an intersection with another road or highway

2. The OHV cannot be driven on any railroad right-of-way except for crossing the tracks where they intersect with a road or highway.

FAQs about OHVs

What is Ordinance 012?
Mesa County Ordinance 012 was adopted by the Mesa County Commissioners on November 17, 2014.
The ordinance allows for the operation of off-highway vehicles (OHV) on all county roads located in the unincorporated areas of Mesa County. The ordinance also provides for any penalties for violation of the ordinance.

What is an OHV?
An OHV (per Colorado Revised Statute [CRS] 33-14.5-101(3)) is any self-propelled vehicle which is designed to travel on wheels or tracks in contact with the ground, which is designed for use off of public highways, and which is generally designed to transport for purposes of recreational purposes.
In short, it’s ATV’s, dirt bikes, dune buggy’s, etc.

What isn’t an OHV?
An OHV is not a vehicle designed and used to travel on, over, or in the water; snowmobiles; military vehicles; golf carts; vehicles designed to carry disabled persons; vehicles used specifically for agricultural, logging, or mining purposes; or vehicles registered per Article 3 of Title 42 of CRS.


What must I have to take advantage of Ordinance 012?


In order to be in compliance with Ordinance 012, the operator of an OHV must:

• Only operate an OHV on public roadways in unincorporated Mesa County, however prohibits operation on State or Federal Highways;
• Be at least 16 years old, with a valid Driver License; and
• Have the minimum liability insurance coverage, as required by Colorado Law

The OHV must be equipped with:
• A maintained muffler, in constant operation;
• A U.S. Forest Service approved spark arrester;
• A braking system which can be utilized by hand or foot; and
• At last one lighted head lamp and one lighted tail lamp when operating between the hours of sunset and sunrise.


What else should I know?

The operator of an OHV should not exceed 35 miles per hour – or the posted speed limit (whichever is less) on any county road;
An operator of an OHV shall only ride on the far right hand portion of the roadway.
If there are multiple riders, they must ride single-file.
The riders must not ride on private roads or on private property without consent from the owner.
This ordinance does not allow an OHV operator to ride on roadways within the various municipalities of Mesa County, or on any state or federal roadway (this includes Hwys 6 [E Rd and Front St], 50, 65, 139 [13 Rd], 141 [32 Rd], 330, 340 [Broadway], I-70B, etc.) 

 
What are the penalties?
Any violation of this ordinance, not covered under Model Traffic Code, is a Class 2 Petty Offense, and is punishable by a fine of not more than $1000 for each violation, plus a $10 surcharge, and any applicable administrative fees.


Still have a question?

Call our Traffic Safety Deputies, at (970) 244-3356.


Mesa County Logo with Text  Follow Us On  
Facebook Icon   Twitter Icon   Email Icon 
        Mesa County Home           Comments/Feedback          Copyright/Disclaimer/Privacy           Webmaster