Top Image Mesa County Home
Mesa County Sheriff's Office
Sex Offenders
Sexually Violent Predator (SVP) Registration Procedures  

Sexually Violent Predators (SVP's) follow the same guidelines for registration as do sex offenders except that SVP's are required to register quarterly for life and are not eligible to petition for discontinuation of registration. The following is a brief overview of the Colorado Sex Offender registration Act as provide by the Sex Offender Management Board and can be found in Colorado Revised Statute (C.R.S.) 16-22-101 through 16-22-114, as it pertains to law enforcement requirements for registration of adult sex offenders, specifically, Sexually Violent Predators.

  • Persons required to register as described in C.R.S. 16-22-102 through 16-22-103.
  • Probation, Community Corrections, County Jail, Law Enforcement, Department of Human Services, Department of Corrections, and Judges and Magistrates shall provide notice to offenders informing them of their duty to register.
  • Offenders must register with the appropriate law enforcement agency within 5 business days after release from incarceration or, if not incarcerated, within 5 business days after notice of the duty to register. If an offender is released from the Department of Corrections (DOC) without parole, offenders must register the next business day. Offenders moving to Colorado from other states must register within 5 days of their arrival in Colorado.
  • Before release from DOC, offenders must specify a address at least 10 days prior to release. DOC personnel, in cooperation with the appropriate law enforcement agency, must verify the proposed address and provide notice to the law enforcement agency, within 2-5 days before the offender is released.
  • Offenders shall complete standardized registration forms when registering with law enforcement. Registrations forms shall be confidential and shall not be released to the public. The law enforcement agency shall retain a copy of the registration form and shall report the information to the Colorado Bureau of Investigation for the central registry within three business days.
  • Offenders must register in all jurisdictions where they establish a residence. If an offender changes his/her address, he/she must, within 5 business days, cancel registration at the previous law enforcement agency, and register at the new agency.
  • SVP's are required to register quarterly for live. They are not eligible to petition for discontinuation of registration.
  • The law enforcement agency shall verify an SVP's address quarterly.
  • Failure to register or otherwise comply with registration requirements constitutes a new offense (C.R.S. 18-3-412.5). When a peace officer determines that there is probably cause to believe that a crime of failure to register has been committed by a SVP pursuant to article 22 of title 16 of the Colorado Revised Statute, the officer shall arrest the person suspected of the crime.
  • The law enforcement agency shall release information regarding persons required to register to any resident of the agency's jurisdiction and may release information to persons living outside the agency's jurisdiction. The agency may post the information on a web site, as authorized in C.R.S. 16-22-112(2). Information released at a minimum, shall include name address or addresses, aliases, date of birth, photo, if requested and readily available, and the unlawful sexual behavior offense requiring registration. Information concerning victims shall not be released.

Mesa County Logo with Text  Follow Us On  
Facebook Icon   Twitter Icon   Email Icon 
        Mesa County Home           Comments/Feedback          Copyright/Disclaimer/Privacy           Webmaster