(970) 244-3500

Records Lobby

215 Rice Street
Grand Junction, CO 81501
(970) 244-3500

Records Lobby Hours

8:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m. Monday-Friday excluding holidays.

After hours, visit the Detention Lobby for instructions.

Payments

Please bring cash, check or money order to pay fees. Credit cards are accepted with an additional fee.

Learn more about how to request a copy of a report or criminal justice record.

The Mesa County Sheriff's Office has modified operations as a precaution due to COVID-19. 

Click Here for the latest information about operational changes  

 

The Records Unit is the support staff for the Mesa County Sheriff's Office. They strive to fulfill the mission of the Sheriff's Office on a daily basis by partnering with citizens to enhance the quality of life in Mesa County by anticipating, identifying, and resolving public safety concerns.

Services

Records is responsible for the processing, maintaining, archiving, retrieving and releasing of information and copies of reports in accordance with federal and state regulations and guidelines. The unit handles public and criminal fingerprinting, arrest records, case reports, background checks, and concealed handgun permits. The Records Unit is also responsible for processing and accepting payment for Mesa County Code tickets, warrants, as well as completing bonds for individuals. 

Fingerprinting

Due to the physical contact involved in the fingerprinting process, a non-medical cloth mask or face covering is recommended.  You will also be asked to wash your hands as part of the normal fingerprinting process.

Due to changes in Colorado legislation, the Mesa County Sheriff’s office will no longer provide fingerprint services for non-criminal submissions to the Colorado Bureau of Investigation (CBI).

 

Non-criminal fingerprinting
(Excluding fingerprints required by the Sheriff’s Office)

  • Services are available through a CBI approved vendor.
  • To schedule an appointment visit CBI's website. 
  • No walk-in appointments are available.

Criminal fingerprinting 

Court-ordered photos and fingerprints can be obtained at the Mesa County Criminal Justice Center Monday through Friday, from 8:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m

Other fingerprinting services

  • Ink fingerprinting is available on a walk-in basis at the Sheriff's Office Records Lobby for out-of-state and federal cards only. There is a $5.00 charge per card.
  • Fingerprinting for Conceal Handgun Permit applications requires an appointment. To schedule an appointment, please use the online application process. 

 

Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) Inspections

The Sheriff's Office provides ONLY off-site VIN inspections for unincorporated Mesa County. The cost is $20.00.  Visit the Records Lobby in-person to request and pay for off-site VIN inspections.

For a certified VIN inspection, contact the Colorado State Patrol at (970) 858-2250.

If you need a VIN inspection for the DMV, the Mesa County Clerk and Recorder's Office offers the service on-site.

 

Stolen Vehicle Check by VIN

Check a vehicle's VIN information before you make a purchase.  Information will be compared with vehicles currently reported stolen in the Colorado Crime Information Center stolen vehicle file through the Colorado Bureau of Investigation.
GET STARTED

 

Background Checks

Requests for background checks can be made at any time in person at the Records Counter. Background Checks consist of arrest records from the Mesa County Sheriff’s Office ONLY.  

You will need a picture ID and completed request form

The charge is $2.00. These requests are generally processed while you wait.

 

All bonds must be posted at the Mesa County Sheriff's Office with the exception of a property bond. This process must be started at the Court Clerk’s Office located at the Mesa County Justice Center and is completed at the Mesa County Sheriff's Office. Learn more about how to: Post a Bond, and Revoke a Bond.

The Mesa County Sheriff’s Office releases records in accordance with the Colorado Criminal Justice Records Act, C.R.S. 24-72-301 and the Colorado Open Records Act, C.R.S. 24-72-201 as it applies to the public records that may exist. Learn more about how to request a copy of a report.  

New and Renewal Concealed Handgun Permit (CHP) applications must be submitted to the county sheriff’s office where you reside, own property, or own a business. Learn more about the online application process here.

Background Check $2.00

Bond Processing Fees $10.00 (per bond)

Case/Incident Reports (up to 4 pages) $2.00 ($0.25 ea. add’l page)

Research and Retrieval Fee – $30.00 per hour for extensive data/record searches and redaction of confidential data under law. C.R.S. 24-72-205 (6)(a)

No charge for the first hour of time expended on research and retrieval.

Tapes/DVD/CD Copies $6.00 per disk

Concealed Handgun Permit App. $102.50

Concealed Handgun Permit Renewal $48.00

Concealed Handgun Late Fees $15.00

Fingerprints $5.00 per card

Mug Shots $2.00 / $3.00

($2.00 black & white / $3.00 color)

Vehicle Inspections – Off Site $20.00

Sex Offender Registration – Initial  $75.00

Sex Offender Registration – Annual  $25.00

 

For any other service fees not mentioned here, please contact a Records employee at (970) 244-3500.

*Please Note: The Mesa County Sheriff’s Office accepts all major credit cards. An additional fee will apply.