To provide better service and reduce wait times, the Mesa County Sheriff’s Office will be accepting CHP applications by appointment only, walk-in services will no longer be offered as of February 22, 2021. Please use the new online service to schedule future appointments, submit your application, and pay at your convenience. Thank you for your patience while we make this transition.
New, Renewal applications must be submitted electronically. No walk-in appointments are available. If you are changing your Name, Address, or requesting a replacement permit, please use the online application process.
Concealed Handgun Permit Applications must be submitted to the county sheriff’s office where you reside, own property, or own a business.
Applicants must be 21 years of age at the time of application
Learn more about Concealed Handgun Permit Statutes in Colorado.
Applications are submitted online using a third-party service called Permitium.
Before you begin. Have ready a copy of:
- Colorado Government photo ID
- Handgun training certificate that includes the original signature of the class instructor (online classes, home study, and hunter safety courses will not be accepted).
- Proof of Mesa County residency if ID states otherwise
Once your online application is complete, you will be directed to submit payment and schedule an in-person appointment to complete your application.
When you arrive for your scheduled appointment
Please allow at least 30 minutes to complete the in-person application process. You will be fingerprinted and a photo will be taken. Please bring a valid government-issued picture ID.
It may take up to 90 days to complete your application. You will receive an email or text notification when your permit is ready to pick up.
Fees are non-refundable.
To schedule an appointment, start the application process. Available starting Monday, February 22, 2021.
- The fee for a new application is $ 102.50.
- Renewal application fees are $ 48.00.
- A late fee of $ 15.00 will be added to the renewal application if the permit is expired less than 6 months (if your permit has expired, you may no longer carry concealed).
If your permit has expired past 6 months, you must apply for a new permit.
Payment is due at the time of submitting the online application. Minimal processing fees may apply.
No Shoot Zone
Click here to view the current No Shoot Zone, Mesa County map per BOCC Resolution 87-18. This only applies to public land within the No Shoot Zone, it does not apply to Private Land. Federal lands and municipalities have their own regulations. It is your responsibility to know the laws and regulations.
Call (970) 244-3500.