Top Image Mesa County Home
Mesa County Sheriff's Office
Support Services Division
Concealed Handgun Carry Permit  

Application Submission Hours in Mesa County: Concealed Handgun Permit applications are accepted without an appointment at 215 Rice Street, Grand Junction, Tuesday through Thursday, 9 a.m. to 4 p.m., excluding observed holidays. CHP Applications are NOT accepted at our substation or any other location, only at 215 Rice Street, Grand Junction.

As you consider getting a CHP, we strongly recommend you read our CHP instructions packet in its entirety before you begin.

Special Note: Starting February 4, 2013, we are limiting the days (see schedule above) of accepting CHP applications due to staffing shortage as a result of prior budget cuts combined with very recent spikes in applications submitted to our agency. Currently, CHP applications are taking 4 to 6 weeks to process. If you have a renewal, you can and we highly encourage you to, submit the renewal packet 120 days BEFORE your permit expires. You will avoid a lapse in your permit by submitting it that early.

Medical & Personal Use Amounts of Marijuana: While the Colorado Constitution allows for an affirmative defense for the personal possession of marijuana and/or if the individual possessing marijuana has a valid state registry card or falls under the rules of the Colorado Medical Marijuana registry as a caregiver, possession of marijuana, while legal under Colorado law is still a violation under Federal law. For the purpose of issuing concealed handgun permits, possession of or use of marijuana is still a disqualifying factor. If you possess marijuana in any form, you must answer question #8 (under applicant history) on the CHP application form, in the affirmative.

Colorado Bureau of Investigation - Reciprocity

Mesa County Logo with Text  Follow Us On  
Facebook Icon   Twitter Icon   Email Icon 
        Mesa County Home           Comments/Feedback          Copyright/Disclaimer/Privacy           Webmaster